State of Hatohobei
The elected government of Tobi Island & its people
Republic of Palau
P.O. Box 1017
Koror PW 96940
Hatohobei State Flag

Updated: June 13, 2019

About our Flag & the History of Hatohobei State—
by Paulina Theodore
Hatohobei's state flag was selected in our competition. Ms. Tekla Emilio's design was selected by the Flag Winning Award Committee, chaired by Mrs. Obita Victor. In the new design,
  • the three stars represent Hatohobei, Hotsarihie, and Pieraurou
  • the clam shell represents Romohparuh, the first person on Hatohobei, who claimed ownership of the island by burying a clam shell
  • the five fingers of the clam shell represent clans of Tobi
  • blue represents the territorial waters and airspace of Hatohobei State and white represents freedom and peace.
State History: From the 1940s until 1984 Tobi was governed by a magistrate under the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands,

On July 10, 1984 Hatohobei became one of the 16 states of the Republic of Palau and has been administered by Hatohobei State Government since that time.


State leadership 1984 -2008
  • 1984-1988
    Nemecio Andrew, Governor
    Crispin Emilio, Lieutenant Governor
  • 1988-1992
    Crispin Emilio, Governor
    Sebastian Marino, Lieutenant Governor
  • 1992-2000
    Crispin Emilio, Governor
    Sabina Andrew, Lieutenant Governor
  • 2000-2004
    Sabino Sackarias, Governor
    Crispin Emilio, Lieutenant Governor
  • 2004-2008
    Crispin Emilio, Governor
    Dominic Emilio, Lieutenant Governor
  • 2008-
    Thomas M. Patris, Governor
    Dominic Emilio, Lieutenant Governor

Hatohobei State Office in 2001